Home

I am a feminist. I believe women are equal to men. We are all human beings and as such all deserve to be treated with the same respect, kindness, and decency regardless of what’s between our legs. Also if you have a penis and you love other people with penises, that’s cool and I believe you were born that way (same goes if it’s a vagina kind of situation). Also if you are anatomically male/female but feel in your heart of hearts that this was an error, then I think you have the right to make the decision for yo’self.

As a mother of boys I am terrified of raising men who are helpless in the kitchen or who act like having a vasectomy is an unfathomable affront to their manhood. I am terrified of raising men who refer to other men as “fags” or woman as “dykes”. I also loathe the thought of raising racist human beings.

I have a daughter too and she is strong and fierce but has been made to feel uncomfortable on more than one occasion simply because she is female. She has felt threatened walking into a grocery store by men leering. She has felt the need to call her boyfriend from her cell phone when leaving a work function alone because felt like she was being followed by a man in an almost empty building. Maybe these men didn’t pose a threat to her but by very virtue of being a woman, she felt and was at risk. Our society has been constructed as such that on a very base level women are vulnerable to the whims, however dark, dangerous, and loathsome, of men.

Before any gets their shit in a knot, I do not hate men. Far from it! They are my favourite. I do not have a wide social circle because I suck at small talk (well covered I know) and because I tolerate zero bullshit. Often times you find less bullshit in relationships with males (ha, I almost typed “other males”…I really connect with the fellas!). Men are conditioned and rewarded by society for expressing their opinions, well thought out or not. Women are typically not granted such a luxury.  I don’t feel any real need to elaborate on this, here in 2017, when one of the most vile men of all time is currently holding the most powerful position in the world.

I am tired. I am tired of seeing repeated injustices the world over and not knowing how to effect lasting change or when we will ever see true equality among the sexes, races, cultures, and human beings in general. When will we live in a world where children do not starve and athletes are flush with cash because of what they can do with a ball? When will we live in a world where decisions about women’s bodies are not made by men? When we will live in a world where children’s lives are valued more than money and we have a justice system with representation of same? When will we live in a world where we worry less about what people are wearing than how they are treating each other?

I want to live in a world where no one’s lot in life is predetermined by the colour of their skin, what’s between their legs, or who they love. I don’t want to live in a world where feast and famine co-exist without a second thought.

Ugh maybe I want to live in a commune. JK. I’m more of a clothing for everyone is a  good idea kind of girl and value my privacy too much to be livin’ off the land with a group of individuals who probably make small talk and smell like patchouli. (I hate patchouli).

Maybe all it would take is one time of not feeling like something I said is less valued because of a difference of chromosome. Maybe it would only take one legitimate jail sentence for a person guilty of harming a child. Maybe I need Kendall Jenner to swing on by with a Pepsi, I don’t know, but what I do know is that this world we live in is far from perfect and if we look south of the (Canadian) border, it’s getting scarier every day.

For now I will focus on being a decent human being and trying to raise decent human beings. I will not shy away from sharing my opinion (it’s actually physically impossible for me, I’m almost certain).

And finally, for now, I leave you with this (courtesy of The Youngbloods):

Come on people now
Smile on your brother
Everybody get together
Try to love one another
Right now

Because when all else fails? There is music.

Leave a Reply

